Born Free USA position: SUPPORT
Update (May 12, 2011): The bill was signed into law today!
Bill description: SB 5688 would make it a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a $5,000 fine to offer, buy, sell a shark fin or shark fin derivative, or to prepare or process a shark fin or derivative for consumption. Violation of the proposed law would also trigger a one-year suspension of commercial fishing privileges.
The bill also would make it a Class C felony punishable by up to five years in jail, a $10,000 fine, and a one-year suspension of commercial fishing privileges when the violation involves shark fins or derivative worth more than $250, is committed with knowledge the shark was illegal caught, or is committed within five years of a prior shark finning conviction or any other prior conviction involving fish, other than a recreational fishing violation. SB 5688 has an effective date of Aug. 1, 2012.
Read the full text of the bill and follow its progress here.
Note: The text and status of Washington bills is available here.
Note: The text and status of Washington is also available at apps.leg.wa.gov/billinfo/.