Home Page Home | Search Search | Online Store Store | Donate Donate | RSS Feeds RSS Feeds |  


State Pet Shop Laws: Pennsylvania

View Map
View Map

Definitions:

  • Animal not defined.
  • Seller: a kennel, pet shop operator or other individual who sells dogs to the public and who owns or operates a kennel or pet shop licensed by the Pennsylvania Dept of Agriculture or the USDA. Excludes nonprofit kennels. (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 73, § 201-9.3)

Vet Care:

  • Prohibits anyone from wantonly or cruelly depriving an animal of “necessary” vet care. (Penalty: summary offense) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 18, § 5511)
  • Prohibits anyone from importing a dog into the state without a health certificate. (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 3, § 459-214)

Housing:

  • N/A

Lemon Laws:

  • Sellers must provide purchasers of dogs with a health certificate and health record at the time of sale. Sellers also must provide a guarantee of good health (signed by both parties) at the time of sale. (Penalty: max $1,000 civil fine) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 73, § 201-9.3)
  • Sellers must post a consumers’ rights sign at the place of business. (Penalty: max $1,000 civil fine) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 73, § 201-9.3)
  • Sellers must provide to purchasers a written sheet stating the consumers’ rights at the time of sale. (Penalty: max $1,000 civil fine) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 73, § 201-9.3)
  • Lemon law that offers recourse to those who purchase sick or diseased animals from pet shops. [See PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 73, § 201-9.3 for consumer remedies for the purchase of an ill or diseased animal.]

Food and Water:

  • Prohibits anyone from wantonly or cruelly depriving an animal of “necessary” sustenance or drink. (Penalty: summary offense) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 18, § 5511)

Sanitary Conditions:

  • Prohibits anyone from wantonly or cruelly depriving an animal of access to “clean and sanitary shelter.” (Penalty: summary offense) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 18, § 5511)

Unweaned Animals:

  • Prohibits anyone from selling rabbits under 2 months old or fowl under 1 month old. Exception: selling them for commercial breeding and rearing. (Penalty: summary offense) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 18, § 5511)
  • Dogs imported into the state must be at least 7 weeks old. (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 3, § 459-214)

Miscellaneous Provisions:

  • License required. (Penalty: max $1,000 civil fine) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 73, § 201-9.3)
  • [See PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 30, § 2507, which places certain limitations on the sale of reptiles, amphibians and fish.]
  • Prohibits killing an animal using a high altitude decompression chamber. (Penalty: max. $250 fine per day) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 3, § 328.1)
  • Requires that animals be destroyed by barbiturate overdose, barbiturate combination or drug approved for this by Food & Drug Administration. Animals must be destroyed per guidelines issued by state Agriculture Department. (Penalty: max. $250 fine per day) (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 3, § 328.2)
  • Allows animals 7 weeks old or older to be destroyed using CO gas (if specific technical requirements are met). (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 3, § 328.5)
  • Allows animals under 7 weeks to be destroyed using certain gases (e.g., ether) in an airtight chamber or plastic bag. (PA. STAT. ANN. tit. 3, § 328.5)

Notes:

  1. Where “adequate space” is not defined the state has not established a definition for the term.
  2. The definition of “animal” may actually be broadly written while the types of animals covered by the law (e.g., veterinary care, sanitation, food and water) may be more narrowly drafted.

Also see:

Legislation
Legislation
Legislation